The Friends School of Minnesota School Committee and five administrators spent last weekend at the Dunrovin Retreat Center outside of Stillwater, Minnesota. The retreat provided a full day and a half of work time, allowing us to focus on initiatives from our 2011-2016 strategic plan. There was also some time to relax and get to know each other better.

It was a productive weekend with good process. We are fortunate to have a dedicated board who give so much time to helping make our school strong. Thank you, School Committee!

Friends School of Minnesota 2012-13 School Committee
(and our business manager Garth and head of school Lili)
back row: Garth Morissette, Lael Gatewood, Kak Jarvis, Lori Ricke, Eric Salverda, Bob Striker, Doug Herron, Terry Kayser, Whitney Clark, John Kraft
front row: Cathy Jordan, Kathy Holmes, Lili Herbert, Cynthia Hoffman, Bird Anderson, Jen Cornell
not pictured but at the retreat: Marybeth Neal
 also on SC: Sharon Elmore and Paulette Zoe

What is the School Committee and what do they do?

The 21-member board of directors of Friends School of Minnesota is called the School Committee. As the governing body, the School Committee adopts school policies and is the legal body ultimately responsible for the financial health and operation of the school.  The responsibilities of individual School Committee members lie in three general areas: mission stewardship, advocacy and fiduciary.

Friends Council on Education, the national organization of Quaker schools, requires that a Quaker school either be “under the care of” a Quaker Meeting or that the School Committee contain a majority of Quakers. Since FSMN is not formally affiliated with a Meeting it adheres to the Quaker majority requirement. Members of Twin Cities Friends Meeting, Minneapolis Friends Meeting, Prospect Hill Friends Meeting, and Cannon Valley Friends Meeting have served on the School Committee.